Immigration Update

Hello friends.  It’s been a while.

I wish I could share with you that Noreddine and I have had our Immigration Appeal hearing and have won it such that he can come to Canada now. But that is not the case. We still have yet to be told when our Appeal hearing will be.  Our Immigration Representative has been told that we may not get a date until November or December 2014 because the Immigration Review Board (IRB) is dealing with a large BACKLOG. After our ADR hearing, back in July 2013 we expected that we would be having our Appeal hearing a year later. Now July 2014 has arrived and we are still waiting and still being kept apart.

December 6, 2014 will be our 3rd wedding anniversary and here we are still waiting to be together; both of us struggling with depression and living life separate even though we are married and so desperately want to be together. I long for a time when we can get annoyed with one another for stealing the blankets or leaving dirty clothes strewn across the bedroom floor as much as I long for the times when we can just cuddle up on the couch and watch TV together or go for a stroll hand-in-hand around the neighbourhood.

The hardest part we both face is that there really is NO reason for why we are being kept apart. We were told, in a form letter, by the immigration representative who made the decision that he just didn’t feel like Noreddine loved me and, therefore, we would not qualify for family sponsorship as he must have just married me to get into Canada. It’s hard to comprehend that such a statement could be made and used as a reason to reject our application with absolutely NO facts or evidence to support it.

If you believe that Canada Immigration (CIC) has to actually PROVE what they say when they reject an application then you would be mistaken…just as I was when I thought that what happened to Noreddine and I JUST COULDN’T HAPPEN. There was no evidence offered.  We offered a lot of evidence of the legitimacy of our relationship and letters from friends and family on both sides, but that was all ignored in favour of one guys opinion that had very little to do with actual fact and more to do with his personal bias.

On February 25th I wrote a third letter to the Immigration Minister regarding our situation and have yet to hear anything back from him. Of course in reality I have never had a single response from him at all so it does not surprise me.  The government doesn’t care how broken this system is as long as they can point to some statistics or metrics that they can highlight as being ‘favourable’ in public opinion. It doesn’t matter that families are torn apart and lives ruined because there isn’t a public outcry about it…and in a country that is supposedly built on immigration I have to say that I don’t understand why more people aren’t outraged by it. Of course I wouldn’t have believed it could happen until it happened to me.

Thank you Jennifer Molinaro (@JenMolinaro) for your supportive tweet and for helping me find my voice again.

This entry was posted in Current Events, Family Matters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

